Live-look in at my next apartment a.k.a. this gigantic underwater “skyscraper”

   
    
   
CNN Style

Belgian architect Vincent Callebaut. He has revealed ambitious plans for a series of underwater eco-villages that could house up to 20,000 people each in the future. His Aequorea project imagines entirely self-sufficient, spiraling “oceanscrapers” reaching to the sea floor from mangrove-covered marinas on the surface of the world’s oceans.

As well as living space, the Aequorea would house science labs, offices, hotels, sports fields and farms across 250 floors and reach a depth of up to 1,000 meters (3,280 feet). Seawater would be desalinated for drinking, microalgae would recycle organic waste, and light would be provided through bioluminescence.



JESUS H. CHRIST! Somebody get me on the phone with this Vincent Callebaut guy STAT! I’ve never needed anything as badly as I need an underwater jellyfish-shaped skyscraper penthouse. All you Arabs and your oilwell money moving into the $95MM penthouse of 432 Park Ave with your bird’s-eye view of Central Park can step aside. Ya boy is gonna have motherfucking KILLER WHALES outside his windows! I remember when Nelly was on MTV Cribs showing off his four massive fish tanks and thinking “Wow, all I gotta do is put a bandaid under my eye and rap about smoking weed and I’ll have sharks in my house too.” Boy does Nelly look like a peasant now! 

However I will say, I’m not too keen on the idea of the windows being made of recycled plastic. I’ve seen the YouTube video of a whale breaking through the aquarium glass…not exactly tryna get sucked into some watery abyss over here. So maybe the prime real estate is somewhere in the middle where there’s still cool shit to look at, but you’re not 20,000 leagues under the sea in Anglerfish territory? 

  

Yeah, no fucking thanks. I’ll take the Nemo/Dory/Free Willy depth penthouse. Now I just gotta think of how to pay for one of these sweet apartments with my two maxed-out credit cards……….

Leave a Reply

